What do I automate?

I get asked alot: "Hunter, I know I need to start building leverage in my business, but where and how do I start?"

I get asked a lot:

”Hunter, I know I need to start building leverage in my business, but where & how do I start?”

Today, my friends, we are solving this once and for all.

Starting from Square One: What Needs Your Automation Touch?

If you’ve ever been to the beach as a child before, then I’m sure you’re familiar the concept of building a sand castle.

Now if you don’t have a great base to build more sand blocks, everything falls apart.

That's how you need to approach automating your business.

Before we even talk about tools and tricks, let's zero in on what exactly needs your automation magic.

Think about those tasks that eat up your time but don't really need your creative genius – like scheduling posts, client questions, onboarding...

And all that fun stuff.

These are your goldmines for automation.

Rooting Out the Bad Apples: Don't Automate a Mess

Here’s a truth bomb for your Saturday:

Automating a messy process is like putting a band-aid on a broken arm. It's not going to fix the problem.

Before you bring in the big automation guns, make sure your processes are sleek and efficient. There's no point in automating something that's fundamentally flawed.

Take a step back, look at your processes with a critical eye, and fine-tune them.

Only then, my friends, are you ready to automate.

My Secret Weapons:

Alright, let's talk tools.

Notion has been my primary powerhouse for systemizing operations.

Whether it's project management or tracking client progress, Notion is like having an extra brain for your business. Because let’s be honest, it’s hard enough wearing all the hats.

Make.com and Zapier are my automation tools of choice. Both are great in their unique ways, but let’s break down what sets them apart quickly:

Zapier– intuitive UI, tons of apps, and expensive.

Make.com– less intuitive UI, still tons of apps, but cheaper.

I’ll let you make the final decision, but that’s my 2 cents.

A Guiding Framework for Automation

So, how do you get started? Let me lay it down for you:

  1. Identify and refine: Spot those time-suck tasks and streamline them.

  2. Choose your tools wisely: Notion for organization/home-base, Make.com and Zapier for automation.

  3. Implement and adapt: Start small & simple, implement your automation, and keep tweaking for perfection.

Remember, it's not about automating everything; it's about automating the right things.

The ole’ Pareto Principle (80/20 rule) strikes again.

Now you’re well on your way to climbing that ladder of leverage.

Most importantly, don’t force it.

Sometimes, I’ll spend hours building automation in make.com when there is a simpler solution.

In this case, Occam's razor holds true: keeping the automation simple is what is most likely the most effective.

So there you have it – your roadmap to automation and systemization success. It's about making your business work smarter, not harder.

Cliche I know, but still true.

And remember, I'm always here to chat, brainstorm, or help you out with a Notion system that'll knock your socks off.

Till next time, keep hustling, keep smart, and remember – in the world of business, the best automation is the one that works for you.

Peace out, Hunter

P.S. –I'm curious – what's the one task in your business you wish you could automate? Hit reply and let me know.

Also, if you got last week’s letter, then you already know that “The Boron Letter Academy” GPT link broke, but I’m here to fix that.

P.P.S: If you’re in dire need of a fractional COO to handle all of your business systems & operations… Book in before we are at capacity :)