TPS #19 How I'm building a Lifelong One-Person Business

Read time: 5 minutes

Welcome Back, Solopreneurs. 

Hunter, here. 

The more and more I study successful entrepreneurs, the more I want to pursue a one-person business model. Why?You are second to no one. You are your own boss with the ability to do whatever you want, wherever you want, with whoever you want. Easier said than done I know. But that is the true essence of wealth. But what business do you start? ( You don't need to be an expert)

Over the path 4 months or so, I have been on a relentless mission to escape the rat race.

The idea of trading my time for money in order to build someone else's dreams just really rubbed me the wrong way. I felt like I was working towards nothing and that the time of my youth (which I will never get back) was being wasted. 

I've learned a lot about how to start a one-person business model, mainly through trial and error...

But experience is the best teacher. Hopefully, after reading this letter, you can skip some of my mistakes when scrambling to leave the 9-5. 

The simplest concept to remember is this: 

"Build the distribution, then build whatever you want." – Jack Butcher

If you have an audience of people who love who you are as a person, regardless of any business, then any venture you start will likely have a whole mob of people eager to buy from you. 

Think of it like free marketing.

But the best part is the network you will create and the opportunities that will open up from the ideas you put out there. 

Building the distribution isn't easy, but anyone can do it. Here's how to do it the simplest way I know how: 

  1. Pick a social media platform ( I choose Twitter)

  2. Put your ideas out there in the void

  3. Engage with other creators and entrepreneurs who's values you along with

  4. Build something cool, and talk about it.

  5. Show up everyday and do the same thing

But how do you stand out from the endless sea of others doing the same thing?

The way to get out of the competition trap is actually to be authentic. The way to retire is actually to find the thing that you know how to do better than anybody. And, you know how to do that better than anybody because you love to do it.” 

Naval Ravikant

I hear a lot of people tell me that they don't know what they love to do. 

The catch is you won't know until you do many things you don't love doing. Eventually, you'll find the one sweet spot you could spend forever in. For me, that was building systems and writing. 

For you, that can be literally anything. The internet has no limits on ideas. 

If you want to speed this process up, I recommend getting a paper and pencil and physically writing down: 

• What you are good at• What you are skilled in• What you enjoy spending time doing• What you are passionate about• What gives you a sense of purpose & fulfillment. 

After doing that, you should have plenty of dots you can start connecting. 

Don't be discouraged. You don't immediately know what to do, there have been plenty of times when I wanted to work, but I had no idea what to work on. I overcame this by going out and doing work that I eventually disliked, iterated, and pivoted. 

"Building whatever you want" sounds scary, especially if you have no idea what to start building. 

But in truth, it doesn't matter what you start building as long as you start. 

You might find that it didn't work at all, but remember 2 things: 

• Perceived value is always lagging behind. • You learn skills that you'll use later in your business 

It's a win-win.

But neither will happen if you don't start. 

In order to make this easy for you, I'm going to lay out the framework I a using to build my distribution and projects: 

  1. Giveaway free value

    1. Notion template, E-book, Course

  2. Collect Emails in Exchange

    1. build email list or newsletter

  3. Collect feedback from customers

    1. iterate and improve on feedback

  4. Repeat giving away more free value

    1. (2-3x more times)

  5. Collect more emails

    1. Nothing wrong with building a customer base

  6. Charge

    1. Build product based on customers pains & feedback.

A TON of nuances go into this, but this is the general framework I have been applying for the past 4 months, and it has allowed me to quit my 9-5. The best part about this framework is how sustainable it is. I can repeat this process of building my audience, providing free valuables, and producing a product they need indefinitely. 

Everyone has a different story, a different set of skills, a unique perspective on life. That's what makes you different and valuable to others. Start sharing your story and building your distribution. Your future self will thank you. 

For today's productivity hack, I wanted to help you speed up the process of defining yourself and your business so you can start acting today. 

Click this link, and duplicate the template into your own workspace. Let me know if you want to see more systems like this instead of hack!

PS: Whenever you're ready, here are two-way I can help you:

  1. I’ve been building a one of a kind marketing lead agency with Notion. It’s called profitpilot. It’s only for 6-7 figure entrepreneurs who have busy schedules.

 2.Grab all of my free products here