TPS #47–Work Hard, Anywhere (my on-the-go setup)

Read Time: 2mins 54s

As a location-independent solopreneur, my life wasn’t designed by accident. I've designed my biz and life to make money from anywhere.

The world is at my fingertips as long as I have an internet connection and my laptop.

Could be sipping drinks beachside in Thailand, enjoying the view in Medellin, or hunkered down in a cabin in Colorado.

I've built an optimized on-the-go work setup so it doesn’t matter where I am.

Work can still get done.

Here’s what it looks like:

POV: Working at my favorite coffee shop

Chasing the Digital Dream

At no point in recent history has this been possible.

Looking back even 30 years ago, there were no 20-year-old entrepreneurs.

I mean maybe a couple, but unlike any other period, information, tools, and resources have never been so widely available to everybody.

As a result, you see all over the internet these 17-year-olds making 25k/m.

Absolutely unreal I once thought, but I was determined to make it happen.

So I carefully selected my work on-the-go kit - optimizing for maximum productivity without compromising portability.

This was super important for me early in the beginning when I still had my day job as a valet.

I would go in every morning at 6 AM, but the customers often didn’t need me until 8-9 AM.

Letting me get hours of crucial work done building my agency at my day job.

This compact mobile office allows me to work smoothly from planes, trains, coffee shops, or co-work spaces abroad.

Here's what's in my toolkit.

MacBook Air - My Mobile Workhorse

The anchor of my on-the-go setup is the latest MacBook Air M2. It packs serious performance into a super lightweight 2-pound chassis.

The efficiency of the M2 chip means an insane 18+ hour battery life. Combined with blazing-fast wifi 6, this is my portable powerhouse.

I have everything I need to video chat with clients, work on my favorite apps, or build new projects from anywhere. And it's easy to travel with because it’s so light.

I’ve had many laptops & tablets, and by far, the M2 Air has my heart.

iPad Air - My Portable Second Screen

I know people who swear by only using one screen.

And that may work for everyone, but at least not for me.

A key to deep-focus work is having multiple screens. But lugging around full monitors isn't very nomadic.

That's where the iPad Air comes in...It's my perfect portable second display.

With Apple’s ability to have a sidecar, I can use it as an iPad and connect my keyboard & mouse or display a second connected screen.

Whether displaying research while I write or keeping Slack open while I build, the iPad expands my workspace on the go.

And when I'm not using it as an external monitor, the iPad is great for drawing, note-taking, and other creations. It's a digital Swiss army knife.

Leather Notebook for Unplugged Journaling

Even with my mobile devices in tow, I still journal daily in a leather-bound notebook. (yes you need one; fight me.)

Neuroscience shows writing thoughts by hand benefits learning and focus vs only typing.

Journaling helps me capture ideas, work through challenges, and clarify my thinking daily.

Plus It's nice to give my eyes a rest from screens.

There's just something therapeutic about writing my thoughts down by hand that I can’t replace with technology.

Misc On-the-Go Work Essentials

Beyond the core of my mobile powerhouse.

I’ve got a few extra must-haves:

  • Multi-port USB-C hubs for connecting everything (if needed)

  • Noise-cancelling headphones for tuning out distracting environments

  • Extra chargers (just in case)

And with this simple setup, I’m able to travel anywhere in the world & get things done effectively.

Where should I go next?

I’m thinking Medellin, but I’d love to get your thoughts.

And if you have any other questions about mobile travel gear, I’d love to nerd out about it.

But for now, that’s all I got.

Peace out and enjoy the weekend.

Your friend, Hunter.

PS: Whenever you're ready, here are two-way I can help you:

  1. Dive deeper into the world of AI & systems with my FREE templates & ALL premium systems → Shop

  2. Achieve more with less stress. Get more time for your family, hobbies, and what you love with best-in-class workspaces to scale your online business → ProfitPilot